top of page

LSU Tigers: Queens of the Basketball World

This afternoon the women's NCAA Tournament reached its conclusion as the LSU Tigers and the Iowa Hawkeyes fought for the grand prize. The Bayou Barbie, Angel Reese led her Tigers against Player of the Year, Caitlin Clark and the high-powered Hawkeyes.

The first half headlined by bad officiating. Angel Reese and Alexis Morris picking two questionable fouls each for LSU. However, Iowa was a bit worse as Caitlin Clark, Monica Czinano, and McKenna Warnock found themselves in foul trouble. The officials were getting the spotlight unfortunately, but Jasmine Carson took the court off the bench. Carson went 7-7 from the field, 5-5 on 3-pointers including beating the buzzer before halftime for 21 points in the first half.

Caitlin Clark and the Hawkeyes made a run in the second half and cut the Tigers' 21-point lead to 7 before Alexis Morris put the game to bed. Morris 21 points, all in the second half, along with 9 assists to lead LSU to victory, 102-85.

LSU Tigers win their first-ever basketball championship in program history men or women. Head coach Kim Mulkey wins her fourth championship as coach, three with Baylor and now this one with the Geaux Tigers.

Angel Reese had 15 points and 10 rebounds, her 34th double-double this season. Three Tigers scored 20 or more points. Ladazhia Williams had 20 points to go along with Carson's 22 points and Morris's 21 points.

Player of the Year, Caitlin Clark had 30 points and 8 rebounds in defeat.

Congratulations to the Louisiana State University Tigers

159 views0 comments
bottom of page