top of page

The 2022 WWE Hall of Fame Is Set

By Alex Al-Kazzaz

This Friday, the 2022 WWE Hall of Fame ceremony is taking place at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas. It's Wrestlemania Weekend folks! It's a huge weekend for the world of pro wrestling! Very exciting!

The Undertaker was the first official inductee for this year's class. It's only fitting that he's inducted in his home state of Texas. He will be inducted by none other than Mr. Vince McMahon! Vince and The Undertaker have had a great relationship for well over 30 years. The Undertaker is one of the most iconic characters in the history of pro wrestling.

Vader is the second inductee. He will be inducted by the Hardcore Legend himself, Mick Foley! Vader dominated everywhere he went. From WWE to WCW to Japan to Europe. Who'll ever forget the brutal matches he had with Foley, who wrestled as Cactus Jack at the time? We all know the story from when Foley lost part of his ear in a match in Germany, right? That match was against Vader! Vader passed away about four years ago, so his induction will be posthumously. Rest in peace, Vader.

Now we get to Queen Sharmell. A formidable manager in both WCW and WWE. We'll never forget her run when she managed her husband Booker T during his King Booker run. Sharmell was also a Nitro girl for WCW, as well. She'll be inducted by Booker T, the FIVE-TIME WCW Champion and TWO-TIME WWE Hall of Famer!

Finally, we get to The Steiner Brothers. No doubt, a brilliant tag team in their day. Both were collegiate wrestlers at the University of Michigan! As a team, they found success and held the tag team titles in WWE, WCW, and in Japan. The team lasted until one of the brothers joined the New World Order! Their success did continue when they were both singles wrestlers. One of the brothers, Scott, is still a wrestler and is currently working for the National Wrestling Alliance. The other brother Rick is a current real-estate broker and is the father of Bron Breakker, a former NXT Champion!

This year's Warrior Award will be presented to Shad Gaspard. Shad was a member of Cryme Tyme alongside JTG and they were amazing. Shad sadly passed away in 2020 when he sacrificed himself to save his son from drowning. Honestly, right now, there's NOBODY more deserving for that award that Shad. Fans will always remember him during his WWE run, but most importantly, we will all remember him for being a good friend and worker, as well as a good-hearted family man.

43 views0 comments


bottom of page